Military Pay Raise


This  Cindy Williams is NOT the “Laverne & Shirley” Cindy Williams.  She is a Assistant Director  for national Security in the Congressional Budget Office……

Military Pay

This is an Airman’s  response to Cindy Williams’ editorial piece in the Washington Times  about MILITARY PAY, it should be printed in all newspapers across America

Ms. Cindy Williams wrote a piece for the Washington Times,  denouncing the pay raise(s) coming service members’ way this year citing  that she stated 13% wage increase was more than they deserve.

A  young airman from Hill   AFB responds to her  article below. He ought to get a bonus for this.

“Ms Williams:  I just had the pleasure of reading your column, “Our GIs earn enough” and  I am a bit confused. Frankly, I’m wondering where this vaunted overpayment  is going, because as far as I can tell, it disappears every month between  DFAS (The Defense Finance and Accounting Service) and my bank account.  Checking my latest earnings statement I see that I make $1,117.80 before  taxes per month. After taxes, I take home $874.20. When I run that through  the calculator, I come up with an annual salary of $13,413.60 before  taxes, and $10,490.40, after.

I work in the Air Force Network  Control Center where I am part of the team responsible for a 5,000 host  computer network I am involved with infrastructure segments, specifically  with Cisco Systems equipment. A quick check under jobs For Network  Technicians in the Washington ,   D.C. Area reveals a  position in my career field, requiring three years experience with my job.  Amazingly, this job does NOT pay $13,413.60 a year. No, this job is being  offered at $70,000 to $80,000 per annum……….. I’m sure you can draw  the obvious conclusions.

Given the tenor of your column, I would  assume that you NEVER had the pleasure of serving your country in her  armed forces. Before you take it upon yourself to once more castigate  congressional and DOD leadership for attempting to get the families in the  military’s lowest pay brackets off of WIC and food stamps, I suggest that  you join a group of deploying soldiers headed for AFGHANISTAN ; I leave the  choice of service branch up to you. Whatever choice you make, though, opt  for the SIX month rotation: it will guarantee you the longest possible  time away from your family and friends, thus giving you full “deployment  experience.”

As your group prepares to board the plane, make sure  to note the spouses and children who are saying good-bye to their loved  ones. Also take care to note that several families are still unsure of how  they’ll be able to make ends meet while the primary breadwinner is gone  obviously they’ve been squandering the “vast” piles of cash the government  has been giving them.

Try to deploy over a major holiday;  Christmas and Thanksgiving are perennial favorites.. And  when you’re actually over there, sitting in a foxhole, shivering against  the cold desert night; and the flight sergeant tells you that there aren’t  enough people on shift to relieve you for chow, remember this: trade  whatever MRE (meal-ready- to-eat) you manage to get for the tuna noodle  casserole or cheese tortellini, and add Tabasco to everything.  This gives some flavor.

Talk to your loved ones as often as you  are permitted; it won’t nearly be long enough or often enough, but take  what you can get and be thankful for it. You may have picked up on the  fact that I disagree with most of the points you present in your opened  piece.

But, tomorrow from KABUL , I will defend  to the death your right to say it.

You see, I am an American  fighting man, a guarantor of your First Amendment rights and every other  right you cherish. On a daily basis, my brother and sister soldiers  worldwide ensure that you and people like you can thumb your collective  nose at us, all on a salary that is nothing short of pitiful and under  conditions that would make most people cringe We hemorrhage our best and  brightest into the private sector because we can’t offer the stability and  pay of civilian companies.

And you, Ms. Williams, have the gall to  say that we make more than we deserve? You can kiss my royal red a**!!!

A1C Michael Bragg Hill AFB AFNCC

IF YOU AGREE, PLEASE PASS  THIS ALONG TO AS MANY PEOPLE AS POSSIBLE AND SHOW YOUR SUPPORT OF THE  AMERICAN FIGHTING MEN AND WOMEN.

THANK YOU.   

~ by Edward Conley on July 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
